Winegrower

Soil, vines & wine

by Blaise Duboux

A passion for winegrowing

The love of the earth was inscribed in me, handed down from the hands of my grandfather Samuel. Very early on, as I was walking with him through the vineyards, my little wicker hood loaded with Grandma Mathilde’s famous sugar toast, I was fully immersed in this delicious happiness of my “4 o’clock goûter” sitting on a wall or between two stumps.

Even at such a young age, his simple explanations, so respectful of the nourishing plant, made me feel the raw strength of nature. Throughout his life the vine gave him so many worries and so much happiness. Growing up with my father Vincent, I learned to respect the perpetually renewed and always different cycles that make up the sustainability of the vineyard. He accomplished his work with vigorous determination and enormous respect for the plant.

Subject to the elements of the heavens, the winegrower that he was understood that one should not expect anything from Providence, but rather submit to the constraints, those that forge the character of man and make him free to be himself by cultivating the earth.

His calm assurance made me understand that the land is to be cherished.

In the logical continuation of life, after my studies and a Bachelor of Oenological Sciences, I first engaged in reasoned culture and its popularization. Naturally, I undertook what seemed right to me, leading to production without the use of synthetic products, respectful of this nourishing land.

 

The development of the estate

Winemaker and wine engineer HES-SO, I perpetuate the culture of the generations that preceded me by shaping the landscape, taming the vineyard, and by enriching the land. It is here that I raise wines, capricious children but faithful to the terroir and the sky of Lavaux.

My father Vincent entrusted me with the estate and its destiny a few years ago. I have developed the vineyard, expanded its assortment of grape varieties with care, and today I produce eleven white and red wines full of character. As a winemaker in Lavaux, my passion naturally falls to the Chasselas. The Dézaley Haut de Pierre is one of the jewels in the crown of our estate. I am particularly attached to the notion of «terroir» which is expressed through each of my wines.

 

The conversion to Organic

After 23 years of integrated viticulture and a gentle approach to organic and biodynamic cultivation, it was clear to me, that the logical follow-up to the announcement of the end of chemical treatments by helicopter in the vineyard of Lavaux, was the registration of our entire vineyard for organic certification.

Annual organic certification by bio-inspecta (CH-BIO-006)

Send a message
Wintner, Blaise Duboux

Blaise Duboux, viticulture and oenology engineer

Our wine selection

Commitment

More than wine...

a philosophy and commitment to the profession

Managing and animating an estate means first of all knowing the environment perfectly, understanding the conditions of its (longevity) sustainability and putting its passion at the service of its development. The tradition is there, patient and secular. It remains to give it a future and it also requires a commitment outside my own business.

I see Lavaux as a fertile and luminous link for which I am committed body and soul. The care given to our land has earned us the “Bio-Inspecta” certification, granted to those who manage in sublimating the terroir and its fruits. My quest for authenticity requires expertise and irreprochable respect for traditions and the environment.

I like the idea of bringing along a few winemakers concerned with ethics and passion, particularly my commitment to the Arte Vitis Association which is dedicated to unity and innovation.
The promotion of the Vaudois and Swiss wines as well as the promotion of the heritage are causes that concern me and motivate me to play an active role in inter-professional associations such as: Lavaux World Heritage, the Communauté de la vigne et du vin de Lavaux, the Memory of Swiss Wines or Lavaux Vin Bio.

More about us
X

Le vigneron

L'art du vin

par Blaise Duboux

Passion du métier

L’amour de la terre s’est inscrit en moi, reçu des mains de mon grand-père Samuel. Très tôt, en me baladant avec lui dans les vignes, ma petite hotte en osier chargée des fameuses tartines au sucre de grand-maman Mathilde, je vivais pleinement ce bonheur délicieux d’un “quatre heures” assis sur un mur ou entre deux souches.

Déjà ses explications simples et si respectueuses de la plante nourricière m’ont fait sentir la nature de cette force. Tout au long de sa vie, la vigne lui donna tant de soucis et de bonheur aussi.

En grandissant, avec mon père Vincent, j’ai appris les cycles perpétuellement renouvelés et toujours différents qui font la pérennité du vignoble. Il a accompli son travail avec une détermination vigoureuse dans le respect de la plante. Soumis aux éléments du ciel, le vigneron qu’il était, percevait bien qu’il ne fallait rien attendre de la Providence, mais plutôt se soumettre aux contraintes, celles qui forgent le caractère de l’homme et le rendent libre d’être lui-même en cultivant la TERRE. Sa calme assurance m’a fait comprendre que la terre est à chérir.

Dans une suite logique, après mes études et un bachelor en sciences de la viticulture et de l’œnologie, je me suis engagé d’abord dans la culture raisonnée et sa vulgarisation. Naturellement, j’ai entrepris ce qui me paraissait juste, aboutir à une production sans produits de synthèse, respectueux de cette terre nourricière.

 

Développement du domaine familial

Vigneron et ingénieur HES-SO en viticulture et œnologie , je perpétue le métier des générations qui m’ont précédé, en façonnant le paysage, en apprivoisant la vigne, en enrichissant la terre. J’élève ici des vins, enfants capricieux mais fidèles au terroir et au ciel de Lavaux.

Mon père Vincent m’a confié le domaine et son destin, voici déjà quelques années. J’ai développé le vignoble, élargi son assortiment de cépages avec soin et je produis aujourd’hui onze vins blancs et rouges pleins de caractère. Comme vigneron à Lavaux, ma passion va naturellement au Chasselas, le Dézaley Haut de Pierre est l’un des fleurons de notre exploitation. Je suis particulièrement attaché à la notion de « terroir » qui s’exprime à travers chacun de mes vins.

 

Reconversion bio

Après 23 ans de viticulture intégrée et une approche toute en douceur de la culture biologique et biodynamique, il m’est apparu clairement, que la suite logique à donner (à l’annonce de la fin des traitements chimiques par hélicoptère dans le vignoble de Lavaux), était l’inscription de l’ensemble de mon vignoble à la certification en culture biologique.

Certification biologique annuelle par bio-inspecta (CH-BIO-006).

Contact

Blaise Duboux, propriétaire vigneron et œnologue

Notre sélection de vins

Engagements

Plus que du vin...

une philosophie et des engagements

Gérer et animer un domaine, c’est d’abord connaître parfaitement le milieu, comprendre les conditions de sa (longévité) pérennité et mettre sa passion au service de son développement. La tradition est là, qui veille, patiente et séculaire. Reste à lui donner un avenir et cela passe aussi par un engagement en dehors de mon entreprise.

Je vois Lavaux comme un trait d’union fertile et lumineux pour lequel je m’engage corps et âme. Le soin porté à nos terres me vaut la certification Bio-Inspecta, accordée à ceux qui parviennent à sublimer le terroir et ses fruits. Ma quête d’authenticité exige un savoir-faire et un respect irréprochable des traditions et de l’environnement.

J’aime l’idée d’emmener quelques vignerons concernés par l’éthique et la passion, notamment par mon engagement au sein de l’association Arte Vitis qui est placée sous le signe de l’union et de l’innovation.

La promotion des vins vaudois et suisses ainsi que la valorisation du patrimoine sont des causes qui me concernent et me font jouer un rôle actif au sein des associations interprofessionnelles telles que :  Lavaux Patrimoine Mondial, la Communauté de la vigne et du vin de Lavaux, la Mémoire des Vins Suisses ou encore Lavaux Vin Bio.

Le domaine
X